Shortlist for Indie Awards, 2013

The Shortlist for the 2013 Australian Independent Bookseller Awards has been announced. Voted on by the independent booksellers of Australia, The Indie Awards have a proud tradition of picking the best of the best of Australian writing. Panels of expert judges (all indie booksellers and avid readers) choose winners from four book categories – Fiction, Debut Fiction, Non-Fiction and Children’s.  Independent booksellers from around the country will then vote to select their favourite book for the year.  The category winners and the overall ‘Book of the Year’ winner will be announced on Monday, 25 March 2013.

The shortlisted books for the Indie Awards 2013 are:

Nine Days by Toni Jordan
Lost Voices by Christopher Koch
Questions of Travel  by Michelle de Kretser
The Mountain by Drusilla Modjeska

Lake Eyre by Paul Lockyer
QF32  by Richard de Crespigny
Sandakan by Paul Ham
The Essential Leunig: Cartoons from a Winding Path by Michael Leunig

Debut Fiction
The LightBetween Oceans  by M L Stedman
Eleven Seasons  by Paul D Carter
The Cartographer by Peter Twohig
Secrets of theTides  by Hannah Richell

The Convent  by Maureen McCarthy
The 26-StoreyTreehouse  by Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton
Sea Hearts  by Margo Lanagan
 Unforgotten by Tohby Riddle