Stella Prize, 2013 Winner

The first-ever winner of the Stella Prize, the major new award for Australian women’s writing, is Carrie Tiffany for her novel Mateship with Birds

The inaugural Stella Prize was awarded in Melbourne  Tuesday evening, 16 April.  Carrie Tiffany received $50,000 in prize money. On the evening, Carrie Tiffany generously donated $10,000 of the prize money back to be split equally
 among the other five shortlistees, who have each received $2000 as a result.

Carrie Tiffany grew up in Western Australia, has worked as a park ranger in Central Australia, and now lives in Melbourne, where she is an agricultural journalist. Mateship with Birds is her second novel.

You can request this, and the other short listed novels for the Stella Prize, from the Library.


 In alphabetical order of author surname, the 2013 Stella Prize shortlist was:

The Burial by Courtney Collins 

Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser 

The Sunlit Zone by Lisa Jacobson 

Like a House on Fire by Cate Kennedy 

Sea Hearts by Margo Lanagan 

Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany 

Congratulations to Carrie Tiffany, and the other authors nominated for this prestigious prize.