2016 Miles Franklin Winner announced

The winner of the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced! Congratulations to
A.S Patric author of Rock White City!

Black Rock White City is a novel about the damages of war, the limits of choice, and the hope of love. During a hot Melbourne summer Jovan's cleaning work at a bayside hospital is disrupted by acts of graffiti and violence becoming increasingly malevolent. For Jovan the mysterious words that must be cleaned away dislodge the poetry of the past. He and his wife Suzana were forced to flee Sarajevo and the death of their children.

Shortlisted books: 
Hope Farm by Peggy Frew
Leap by Myfanwy Jones
Black Rock White City by AS Patric
Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar
The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood