Miles Franklin Literary Award: 2012 Long List announced

The Miles Franklin Literary Award, 2012 Long List has been announced, with seven of the thirteen contenders being women. This is noteworthy, as no women have appeared on this list in two of the past three years. To win this prestigous prize, the winning author "must present Australian life in any of its phases". Best of luck to each of the authors listed below.

Blood by Tony Birch
The spirit of Progress by Steven Carroll
Spirit house by Mark Dapin
The precipice by Virginia Duigan
All that I am by Anne Funder
Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville
Five Bells by Gail Jones
Foal's Bread by Gillian Mears
Autumn Laing by Alex Miller
Cold Light by Frank Moorhouse
Past the shallows by Favel Parret
The street sweeper by Elliot Perlman
Animal people by Charlotte Wood

The short list will be released in April, and the winner announced in June 2012.
Each of these books are available in the library, so why not read some of the nominated titles, and tell us about your favourites.