NSW Premiers Literary Awards 2012

The shortlists for the Premier's Literary Awards and History awards have been announced at last! Now administered by the New South Wales State Library, the winners will be announced at a presentation dinner on 30th November. Next year, the Premier's Literary Awards will return to being announced at the Writers' Festival in May and the History Awards will revert to September.

The Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)
All That I Am by Anna Funder.
Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville.
Five Bells by Gail Jones
The Life by Malcolm Knox.
 That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott
The Roving Party by Rohan Wilson
Commended:  Spirit House by Mark Dapin

Have your say about who you think should win the People's Choice Award, by voting for your favourite from the shortlist of the Christina Stead Prize.

The UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5000)
 House of Sticks by Peggy Frew
 All That I Am by Anna Funder
 Past the Shallows by Favel Parret
Thrill Seekers by Edwina Shaw
Amateur Science of Love by Craig Sherborne
The Roving Party by Rohan Wilson

The Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction ($40,000)
 Sydney by Delia Falconer.
 How to Make Gravy   by Paul Kelly.
 The Hall of Uselessness: Collected Essays by Simon Leys.
 An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark  by Mark McKenna.
 Her Father's Daughter by Alice Pung.
The Many Worlds of RH Mathews: In Search of an Australian Anthropologist by Martin Thomas.

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature ($30,000)
  A Straight Line to My Heart by Bill Condon.
 The Golden Day by Ursula Dubosarsky.
 Act of Faith by Kelly Gardiner.
 The Dead I Know  by Scot Gardner.
Only Ever Always  by Penni Russon
 All I Ever Wanted  by Vikki Wakefield

The Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)
 Crow Country by Kate Constable.
 Taj and the Great Camel Trek by Rosanne Hawke.
For All Creatures by Glenda Millard, illustrated by Rebecca Cool.
Maudie and Bear by Jan Ormerod; illustrated by Freya Blackwood.
 Angel Creek by Sally Rippin.
Bungawitta by Emily Rodda, illustrated by Craig Smith. 

The Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000)
 Sly Mongoose by Ken Bolton.
Cow by Susan Hawthorne.
Southern Barbarians by John Mateer.
 Swallow by Claire Potter.
New and Selected Poems by Gig Ryan.
The Argument by Tracy Ryan.

The Play Award ($30,000)
Vanessa Bates, Porn.Cake. (Malthouse Theatre)
Angela Betzien, War Crimes (Regional Arts Victoria; Currency Press)
Lally Katz, Neighbourhood Watch (Belvoir Theatre Upstairs)
Verity Laughton, The Sweetest Thing (Arts Radar in association with B Sharp)
Joanna Murray-Smith, The Gift (Melbourne Theatre Company; Currency Press)
Lachlan Philpott, Silent Disco (Griffin Theatre with Australian Theatre for Young People (ATYP) and Hothouse Theatre; Currency Press)

The Scriptwriting Award ($30,000)
Peter Duncan, Rake (Episode 1): R v Murray (ABC TV)
Shaun Grant, Snowtown (Warp Films & Film Victoria)
Michelle Offen, East West 101: The Price of Salvation (Knapman Wyld Television)

The Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)
After Romulus by Raimond Gaita.
 Moving Stories by Alistair Thomson.
 Violin Lessons  by Arnold Zable.

You can view the NSW Premier's History Awards on the NSW State Library website.