Commonwealth Writers Prize Shortlist, 2012

 Commonwealth Writers has announced the shortlist for 2012. The Commonwealth book prize, awarded for best first book, is open to writers who have had their first novel (full length work of fiction) published between 1 January and 31 December 2011. This year there are 19 authors listed, four of whom are Australian:

The Ottoman Motel, Christopher Currie (Australia), The Text Publishing Company
The Vanishing Act, Mette Jakobsen (Australia), The Text Publishing Company
Purple Threads, Jeanine Leane (Australia), University of Queensland Press
Me and Mr Booker, Cory Taylor (Australia), The Text Publishing Company
Have you read any of these titles?

 For further information, read the complete press release listing all contenders for the prize.

The regional winners in each of the five regions (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Carribean and the Pacific) will be announced on 22nd May, 2012, and the overall winners will be announced at Hay Festival, Wales, on  8th June.