Miles Franklin Award 2015

The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna is the winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015!
The Eye Of The Sheep is Laguna's second novel for adults and her first to be shortlisted for the Miles Franklin award. Her first novel One Foot Wrong was long-listed for the award and short-listed for the Prime Minister's Literary Award.
The Miles Franklin Award is presented each year to a novel which "presents Australian life in any of its phases."
Congratulations to all the authors nominated for this prestigious prize.

Told from the mesmerising point of view and in the inimitable voice of Jimmy, this is an extraordinary novel about a poor family who is struggling to cope with a different and difficult child.

Ned was beside me, his messages running easily through him, with space between each one, coming through him like water. He was the go-between, going between the animal kingdom and this one. I watched the waves as they rolled and crashed towards us, one after another, never stopping, always changing. I knew what was making them come, I had been there and I would always know.

Meet Jimmy Flick. He's not like other kids - he's both too fast and too slow. He sees too much, and too little. Jimmy's mother Paula is the only one who can manage him. She teaches him how to count sheep so that he can fall asleep. She holds him tight enough to stop his cells spinning. It is only Paula who can keep Jimmy out of his father's way. But when Jimmy's world falls apart, he has to navigate the unfathomable world on his own, and make things right.

 The shortlist: 

Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett

The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna

The Golden Age by Joan London

After Darkness by Christine Piper

Tree Palace by Craig Sherborne