Miles Franklin Literary Award, 2014 Winner announced.

Congratulations to Evie Wyld,  the winner of the 2014 Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel, All the Birds, Singing.

This novel was judged as being ‘of the highest literary merit’ and presents ‘Australian Life in any of its phases’ in accordance with Miles Franklin’s guidelines for the Award. 

All the birds singing by Evie Wyld

Who or what is watching Jake Whyte from the woods? 

Jake Whyte is the sole resident of an old farmhouse on an unnamed island, a place of ceaseless rains and battering winds. It's just her, her untamed companion, Dog, and a flock of sheep. Which is how she wanted it to be. But something is coming for the sheep – every few nights it picks one off, leaves it in rags.

It could be anything. There are foxes in the woods, a strange boy and a strange man, rumours of an obscure, formidable beast. And there is Jake's unknown past, perhaps breaking into the present, a story hidden thousands of miles away and years ago, in a landscape of different colour and sound, a story held in the scars that stripe her back.

Set between Australia and a remote English island, All the Birds, Singing is the story of how one woman's present comes from a terrible past. It is the second novel from the award-winning author of After the Fire, A Still Small Voice.

The Shortlist, 2014
The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan 
The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane  
 My Beautiful Enemy by Cory Taylor 
 Eyrie by Tim Winton 
 The Swan Book by Alexis Wright 
 All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld