Aurealis Awards 2011. The winners are...

The winners of the Aurealis Awards, 2011, were  recently announced at a glittering ceremony at North Sydney's Independent Theatre. The awards were selected from around 600 entries across thirteen categories. They represent the best of Australian fantasy, horror and science fiction as judged by a panel of their peers.

Childrens fiction – told primarily through words

The Keepers, Lian Tanner

Childrens fiction – told primarily through pictures

The Boy and the Toy, Sonya Hartnett (writer) & Lucia Masciullo (illustrator)

Young Adult short story

‘A Thousand Flowers’, Margo Lanagan, Zombies V Unicorns

Young Adult novel

Guardian of the Dead, Karen Healey

Illustrated Book/ Graphic Novel

Changing Ways, Justin Randall


The Girl With No Hands, Angela Slatter


Wings of Fire, edited by Jonathan Strahan and Marianne S. Jablon

Horror short fiction

‘The Fear’, Richard Harland, Macabre: A Journey Through Australia’s Darkest Fears

Horror long fiction

Madigan Mine, Kirstyn McDermott

Fantasy short fiction

‘The February Dragon’, LL Hannett & Angela Slatter, Scary Kisses and

‘Yowie’, Thoraiya Dyer, Sprawl

Fantasy novel

Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts

Science Fiction short fiction

‘The Heart of a Mouse’, K.J. Bishop,

Science Fiction novel

Transformation Space, Marianne de Pierres,

Peter McNamara Convenors’ Award

Helen Merrick

Congratulations to all the winners!