2011 NSW Premier's Literary Award Winners Announced!

The winners of the 2011 NSW Premier's Literary Award were announced last week at the Sydney Opera House. These awards were established in 1979 and were Australia's First Premier's Awards. Prize money for these awards range from $5000 - $40 000 (that's a great incentive to write a best seller).

Notable winner's included Alex Miller, who took out both the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and the People's Choice Award for his novel, Lovesong; Malcolm Fraser and Margaret Simons, winners of both the Douglas Stewart Prize for non-fiction and Book of the Year for Malcolm Fraser: The Politcal Memoirs; and Libby Gleeson, who received the Special Award for her contribution to children's literature.

Have you read any of these winners? And do you agree with the judges?

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction: Alex Miller - Lovesong
Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction: Malcolm Fraser and Margaret Simons - Malcolm Fraser: The Political Memoirs
Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry: Jennifer Maiden - Pirate Rain
Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature: Cath Crowley - Graffiti Moon
Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature: Sophie Masson - My Australian Story: The Hunt for Ned Kelly
Script Writing Award: Debra Oswald - Offspring
Play Award: Patricia Cornelius - Do not go Gentle  . . .
NSW Premier's Translation Prize & PEN Medallion: Ian Johnston
Community Relations Commission Award: Ouyang Yu - The English Class
UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing: Stephen Daisley - Traitor
Book of the Year: Malcolm Fraser and Margaret Simons - Malcolm Fraser: The Political Memoirs
Special Award: Libby Gleeson
People's Choice Award: Alex Miller - Lovesong