It Must be Awards Season - Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist

On 16 April, it was announced that the following five novels were shortlisted for this year's Miles Franklin Literary Award:

  1. Cover: Breath by Tim WintonBreath by Tim Winton
  2. Cover: Ice by Louis NowraIce by Louis Nowra
  3. Cover: The Pages by Murray BailThe Pages by Murray Bail
  4. Cover: The Slap by Christos TsiolkasThe Slap by Christos Tsiolkas
  5. Cover: Wanting by Richard FlanaganWanting by Richard Flanagan

The Miles Franklin Literary Award celebrates Australian character and creativity and nurtures the continuing life of literature about Australia. It is awarded for the novel of the year which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.
The winners will be announced on 18 June 2009.