Barbara Jefferis Awards 2014

The Barbara Jefferis Award is offered for 'the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society'.
Congratulations to the joint winners of the 2014 Barbara Jefferis Awards: 

The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane & Sea Hearts by Margaret Lanagan

 The short list: 

 Sufficient Grace by Amy Espeseth

The Life and Loves of Lena Gaunt by Tracy Farr

Pilgrimage by Jacinta Halloran 

 Sea Hearts by Margo Lanagan

The Night Guest  by Fiona McFarlane

 The First Week  by Margaret Merrilees

 The Mountain by Drusilla Modjeska